NACCIMA Honours Okonjo-Iweala, Akinwumi Adesina, J C Udeagbala, Nnaeto Orazulike, others

By Mezie Akabudu

The Nigerian Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA), as part of activities to commemorate the 60th anniversary of the association on Tuesday May 25, 2021, honoured notable Nigerians in both the private and public sector as well as outstanding organisations.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Mustapha led other awardees to the event which took place at the International Conference Centre in Abuja.

in his welcome address the Chairman NACCIMA @60 & Nigeria @ 60 Excellence Awards Planning Committee, Nabil Saleh, said, “last year, 2020 NACCIMA and Nigeria attained its 60th year of existence, impact and excellence, we lined up series of events to mark this significant occasion, however, we were compelled to hold off our plans to celebrate this milestone due to the impact and restrictions to contain the spread of the novel corona virus, COVID-19.”

He continued “regardless of the challenges, the organization of this event is proof of the reliance and determination of Nigeria and Nigerians to overcome and thrive in spite of any challenge.”

On the statutory sections of the award, he stated that, “the awards tonight is subdivided into categories representing and affecting several strategic sectors of the macro economy of this nation and economy of Nigerians. Most notably, we will use this occasion for the first time to recognize the efforts of our founding fathers and leaders of the chamber movement in Nigeria from inception till date some of who are no longer with us but, on whose shoulders we firmly stand on

The Chairman of the Occassion and the Honorable Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment, Otunba Richard Adeniyi Adebayo, said that the award ceremony was designed to encourage individuals and organisations who in their different ways have contributed to the economy despite the setback occasioned by the COVID 19 pandemics and also serve as a rendezvous for major stakeholders of the business Community.

In her remarks, President of NACCIMA, Hajiya Saratu Iya Aliyu, said that this is coming at a time when the country is facing various challenges.

According to her, with the tremendous accomplishments by the awardees, the event inspires and encourages  all Nigerians to regain their confidence and return back to the culture of excellence in every aspect of their endeavors.

Read Also


In her words, she noted that, “today’s event is an opportunity to reflect on our 60 years’ journey, not just as an Association, but as a nation.

“To identify and celebrate the history makers, achievers and highlighters who have distinguished themselves in their personal endeavors and immense contributions to the service of Nigeria.

Explaining how the awardees were carefully selected, she noted that, “the awardees tonight were carefully selected from a wide catalog of highflyers produced by this nation. By the choice to honour these select few tonight, we recognize the many energetic and innovative Nigerians who in no little way have contributed to nation building, despite the challenges of the times.

“It is our desire at NACCIMA to establish a national think-tank of all the Awardees, to meet at least on an annual basis, to brainstorm on policy formula and implementation in Nigeria and proffer solutions towards national development.”

Notable Nigerians that made the list of awardees are; the Director-General of the World Trade Organization (WTO), Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, President of the African Development Bank (ADB);  Dr. Akinwumi Adesina, Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations; Mrs. Amina J. Mohammed, Africa’s richest man, Aliko Dangote, Ichie J C Udeagbala (Ide Ozubulu), Ichie Nnaeto Orazulike (Ugo Ozubulu), Chief Cletus Ibeto, Dr. Innocent Chukwuma (INNOSON MOTORS), Kanu Nwankwo.

Others are CEO and Co-founder of Flutterwave ; Olugbenga Agboola, Chief Sunday Adeniyi Adegeye, “King Sunny Ade”, Rabiu Abdulsamad of BUA group, Muhammed Barkindo, Gbenga Oyebode, Bolanle Austen Peters, Oscar Onyema, Lucy Ogechi While, Hajiya Aisha Abubakar, Professor Adesoji Adesugba and others.

The award ceremony was one of the series of events scheduled to mark the 60th anniversary of NACCIMA, which will be climaxed with the AGM on the 2nd of June and the investiture of Ichie J C Udeagbala (Ide Ozubulu) as the 21st President of NACCIMA on the 3rd of June 2021 at the prestigious Aba Sports Club.

The award ceremonies came to a close with a vote of thanks by the 1st Deputy President of NACCIMA, Ide John Udeagbala.

Visit our social media pages










Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button