APC Extends Buni’s Tenure

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has extended the tenure of Governor Mai Mala Buni-led Caretaker Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee.

Mamman Mohammed, Director-General, Press and Media Affairs to Gov. Buni, confirmed this in a statement on Friday, June 25, 2021.

Daily Trust had earlier reported that the tenure of the committee would be extended by six months.


Buni had earlier visited President Muhammadu Buhari at Aso Rock, where he presented a report of the committee to him.

Speaking after receiving the report, Buhari said the APC has been revived, energised and repositioned for its national convention and future elections.

He commended the Buni committee.

“With the work done by the committee the party has bounced back to life.’’

“I have listened with great interest the remarkable job you have done so far.

“We are all witnesses to the crisis that engulfed the party leading to litigations and presented a picture of selfishness and division.”

Buhari said the party structure was disturbed by the conflicts that preceded and followed various elections, noting that the secretariat had been witnessing a beehive of peaceful activities after the reconciliation.

The President told members of the committee that they will continue to enjoy the support of all party stalwarts and members to complete their assignment with the actualisation of the convention and leave an “indelible footprint’’.


“We want to leave behind a legacy of transparency and fairness, which the party needs to survive,’’ he added.

In his remarks, Buni said the committee approached the duty with commitment and dedication to rescue the party from imminent collapse.

The Yobe State Governor noted that all issues and members were given a fair hearing, and an open door policy was created to accommodate all those that were aggrieved, leading to withdrawal of cases in court and peaceful settlements.

“We are currently witnessing high powered decamping to our party, including governors from the PDP.

“The party is now more peaceful, orderly and accommodating than what we met on the ground. Although there was initial fear, the mobilisation and sensitization was able to allay the fears of members,’’ Buni said.

Recall that the caretaker committee was put together on June 25, 2020, following the sack of Comrade Adams Oshiomhole, National Chairman of the party, by a court.

It was given the mandate to stabilise the party and organise a convention to usher in a new National Working Committee (NWC) of the ruling party within six months.

However, its tenure was extended by six months.

A chieftain of the APC, Chief Jackson Lekan Ojo, had earlier confirmed to Daily Trust that the tenure of the committee would be extended by six months.

“They have already extended their timeline by six months internally. They are trying to see if they can resolve some internal wrangling,” he had told Daily Trust.

Below is a full list of members of the committee.

Governor Mai Bala Buni (Yobe) Chairman
Isiaka Oyetola, Governor Osun (South West)
Ken Nnamani (South East)
Stella Okorete – Women Rep
Governor Sani Bello (North Central)
Dr. James Lalu (Physically challenged)
Sen. Abubakar Yusuf (Senate Rep)
Hon. Akinyemi Olaide (House of Reps)
David Lyon (South South)
Abba Ari (North West)
Prof. Tahir Mamman (North East)
Ismail Ahmed (Youths)
Sen. Akpan Udoedehe (Secretary)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button